Dennis Russell Davies

Dennis Russell Davies studied piano and conducting at Juilliard School in New York City, and went on to launch his career as orchestra conductor at the head of the Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra. In Germany he held the post of Generalmusikdirektor at the Opera of Stuttgart, at then at the Bonn Beethovenhalle Orchestra, the International Beethoven Festival, and the Opera of Bonn. He went on to work as Chief Conductor of Vienna RSO and of the Stuttgart Chamber Orchestra. From 1997 to 2009 he held a professorship for conducting at the Salzburg Mozarteum. Further stages in his career include his time as opera music director and chief conductor of the Bruckner Orchestra in Linz from 2002 to 2017, and as chief conductor of the Basel Symphony Orchestra from 2009 to 2016. Starting with the 2018/19 season, Dennis Russell Davies has been appointed Artistic Director and Chief Conductor of the Brno Filharmonie (Czech Republic); then, in the 2020/21 season, he was named Chief Conductor of the MDR Leipzig Radio Symphony Orchestra. In the course of his career, Russell Davies has conducted the most renowned opera orchestras in Europe and North America. After his début at Bayreuth Festival, he guested at Salzburg Festival, at Hamburg and Munich State Operas, at the Metropolitan Opera in New York, at the Opéra National de Paris, at Teatro Real in Madrid, and at Vienna Staatsoper. In the course of his music career spanning over half a century, Dennis Russell Davies has always shown intense commitment in making contemporary music known to wider audiences: he was an early defender of composers of the likes of Philip Glass, Aaron Copland, Mauricio Kagel, Luciano Berio, John Cage, Hans Werner Henze, Leonard Bernstein, William Bolcom, Gija Kantscheli, Arvo Pärt, Manfred Trojahn, and Laurie Anderson. Russell Davies has conducted a great number of opera world premieres, including two operas from Philip Glass’s renowned trilogy, Satyagraha and Akhnaten (at Stuttgart State Opera), as well as Henze’s Die englische Katze and König Hirsch. In New York in 1977, Davies founded the American Composers Orchestra, which he conducted for over 25 years, devoting his activities to world premiere performances of many works by North- and South American composers.

Dennis Russell Davies and Maki Namekawa met for the first time at the Ruhr Piano Festival in 2002. Then, in 2003, after the resounding success of their joint performance at the Ars Electronica Festival in Linz, they decided to start appearing regularly as a piano duo. In the US they have guested in New York City, San Francisco, and other major cities. In Europe they have performed at a great number of events, including the Rheingau Festival (Germany), Klangspuren (Austria), and the Transart Festival (Italy). They also make regular appearances at the Ruhr Piano Festival. In 2008, on the occasion of the Ruhr Piano Festival’s 20th anniversary, the audience acclaimed their world premiere performance of Philip Glass’s Four Movements for Two Pianos, commissioned by the Festival. The American premiere thereof took place in 2009 at Lincoln Center Festival. In 2013 they teamed up with Katia and Marielle Labèque to present the world première of Glass’s Two Movements for Four Pianos, another Festival commission. In 2017 the annual Ruhr Piano Festival Prize was jointly awarded to Maki Namekawa, Dennis Russell Davies, and Philip Glass, three artists who have cultivated a fruitful friendship with the Festival for many years.
Their recording of Alexander Zemlinsky’s arrangement of The Magic Flute for piano four hands was first published as part of the Edition Klavier-Festival Ruhr in 2006: the music press promptly acclaimed this world premiere release. Two further releases followed in 2007 and 2009: Zemlinsky’s arrangement of Beethoven’s Fidelio (Vol. 16), and the boxed set American Piano Music (Vol. 21) with works by Leonard Bernstein, Aaron Copland and Philip Glass. In 2010 the duo recorded Zemlinsky’s four-hand arrangements of Haydn’s oratorios The Seasons and The Creation as Vol. 24 of the Edition Klavier-Festival Ruhr.

Wait List

Your favourite concert is already sold out? Please register yourself on the waiting list. If there is a chance for tickets, we will contact you!

Please use this form for one event only.

Dennis Russell Davies

Dennis Russell Davies studierte Klavier und Dirigieren an der New Yorker Juilliard School. Er begann seine Laufbahn als Chefdirigent des Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra. In Deutschland wirkte er als GMD am Staatstheater Stuttgart und an der Beethovenhalle Bonn, beim Internationalen Beethovenfest und an der Oper Bonn. Anschließend war er langjähriger Chefdirigent des RSO Wien und des Stuttgarter Kammerorchesters. Von 1997 bis 2009 hatte er eine Professur für Dirigieren am Salzburger Mozarteum inne. Weitere Stationen waren von 2002 bis 2017 als Opernchef und Chefdirigent des Bruckner Orchesters Linz sowie von 2009 bis 2016 als Chefdirigent des Sinfonieorchesters Basel. Seit der Spielzeit 2018/19 ist Dennis Russell Davies Künstlerischer Leiter und Chefdirigent der Filharmonie Brno, zur Spielzeit 2020/21 übernahm er zudem das Amt des Chefdirigenten beim MDR-Sinfonieorchester. Im Laufe seiner Karriere hat er die renommiertesten Orchester Nordamerikas und Europas dirigiert. Nach seinem Debut bei den Bayreuther Festspielen gastierte er u.a. bei den Salzburger Festspielen, der Hamburger und der Bayerischen Staatsoper, der Metropolitan Opera New York, der Opéra National de Paris, dem Teatro Real in Madrid und an der Wiener Staatsoper. In seiner über 50-jährigen Laufbahn hat sich Dennis Russell Davies intensiv für zeitgenössische Musik eingesetzt und engagierte sich bereits früh für Komponisten wie Philip Glass, Aaron Copland, Mauricio Kagel, Luciano Berio, John Cage, Hans Werner Henze, Leonard Bernstein, William Bolcom, Gija Kantscheli, Arvo Pärt, Manfred Trojahn oder Laurie Anderson. Er dirigierte zahlreiche Ur- und Erstaufführungen, darunter aus der legendären Philip-Glass-Trilogie «Satyagraha» und «Echnaton» am Staatstheater Stuttgart oder Henzes «Die englische Katze» und «König Hirsch». 1977 gründete er das American Composers Orchestra in New York mit, das er 25 Jahre leitete. Dort widmete er sich der Aufführung nicht nur US-, sondern auch südamerikanischer Komponisten.

Beim Klavier-Festival Ruhr 2002 begegneten sich Dennis Russell Davies und Maki Namekawa erstmals. 2003 beschlossen sie nach ihrem großen Erfolg beim Festival Ars Electronica in Linz, fortan regelmäßig als Klavierduo aufzutreten. In den USA gastierten sie u.a. in New York und San Francisco. In Europa trat das Duo u.a. beim Rheingau Festival, bei den Klangspuren Schwaz (Österreich), dem Festival Ars Electronica Linz sowie dem Festival Transart auf. Das Duo gastiert regelmäßig beim Klavier-Festival Ruhr. Anlässlich des 20-jährigen Bestehens des Klavier-Festivals Ruhr feierte das Publikum 2008 die Uraufführung der Four Movements for Two Pianos von Philip Glass, einer Auftragskomposition des Klavier-Festivals Ruhr. Die amerikanische Erstaufführung des Werkes fand 2009 beim Lincoln Center Festival in New York statt. 2013 folgte gemeinsam mit Katia und Marielle Labèque die Uraufführung von Philip Glass’ Two Movements for Four Pianos, ebenfalls eine Auftragskomposition des Klavier-Festivals Ruhr. 2017 erhielten Maki Namekawa, Dennis Russell Davies gemeinsam mit Philip Glass den Preis des Klavier-Festivals Ruhr, mit dem die drei Künstler eine langjährige Freundschaft verbindet.

In der Edition Klavier-Festival Ruhr erschien 2006 ihre Aufnahme von Alexander von Zemlinskys Bearbeitung der „Zauberflöte“ für Klavier zu vier Händen; sie wurde nicht zuletzt von der Fachpresse als Ersteinspielung hoch gelobt. 2007 und 2009 folgten Zemlinskys Bearbeitung des „Fidelio“ (Vol. 16) und „American Piano Music“ (Vol. 21) mit Werken von Leonard Bernstein, Aaron Copland und Philip Glass. 2010 spielte das Duo für die Edition als Vol. 24 Haydns „Jahreszeiten“ und „Schöpfung“, ebenfalls in der Bearbeitung Zemlinskys für Klavier zu vier Händen, ein.

Vergangene Konzerterlebnisse

WARTELISTE

Ihr Lieblings-Konzert ist bereits ausverkauft? Tragen Sie sich bitte in die Warteliste ein. Falls sich eine Chance auf Karten ergibt, kontaktieren wir Sie! Bitte benutzen Sie dieses Formular nur für jeweils eine Veranstaltung.