Gerhard Oppitz

Gerhard Oppitz’ international career began in 1977 when he was the first German to win the coveted Arthur Rubinstein Competition in Tel Aviv. The ninety-year-old Rubinstein himself was a member of the jury. Concert tours through Europe, Japan and the USA followed. In 1978 Oppitz recorded the first of numerous records, in the meantime 78 recordings have been made. In 1981 Oppitz was offered a professorship at the Musikhochschule Munich, which he held until 2013.

In the course of his artistic life, Gerhard Oppitz has repeatedly performed with legendary conductors such as Carlo Maria Giulini, Wolfgang Sawallisch, Sir Colin Davis, Zubin Mehta and Riccardo Muti. CD and video recordings document this happy collaboration.

Oppitz has repeatedly performed complete cycles of works in concert – Bach’s Wohltemperiertes Klavier, the sonatas of Beethoven, Schubert and Mozart, Grieg and above all the piano works of Johannes Brahms. In Europe, the USA and Japan he performed the complete Brahms Sonata Cycle. At the Rheingau Music Festival he performed all of Schubert’s solo works in eleven full-length programs. His complete recording of all Brahms piano works in 1990 was followed in 1993 by a recording of the two piano concertos with Sir Colin Davis, as well as a series of seven CDs with the piano compositions of Edvard Grieg. His recording of the Beethoven piano concertos from 1995 and 1996 with the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra under Marek Janowski is exemplary. In 1997 Oppitz’ recording of all works for piano and orchestra by Carl Maria von Weber, also with the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra under Sir Colin Davis, was released. Recent releases include Beethoven and Schubert sonatas and a CD with Japanese piano music.

In 2009, Gerhard Oppitz received the Brahms Prize of the Brahms Society Schleswig-Holstein, previously awarded to Leonard Bernstein and Lord Yehudi Menuhin. Since 2014 he has received the Bavarian Maximilian Order for Science and Art, the highest award of the Free State of Bavaria, with which Johannes Brahms had already been honoured in 1873.

Wait List

Your favourite concert is already sold out? Please register yourself on the waiting list. If there is a chance for tickets, we will contact you!

Please use this form for one event only.

0

Gerhard Oppitz

Gerhard Oppitz‘ internationale Karriere nahm 1977 ihren Anfang, als er als erster Deutscher den begehrten Arthur-Rubinstein-Wettbewerb in Tel Aviv gewann. Der neunzigjährige Rubinstein selbst saß in der Jury. Konzertreisen durch Europa, Japan und die USA folgten. 1978 nahm Oppitz die erste von zahlreichen Schallplatten auf, mittlerweile sind es 78 Einspielungen geworden. 1981 wurde Oppitz eine Professur an der Musikhochschule München angeboten, die er bis 2013 hielt.
Gerhard Oppitz hat im Laufe seines Künstlerlebens immer wieder mit legendären Dirigenten musiziert – mit Carlo Maria Giulini, Wolfgang Sawallisch, Sir Colin Davis, Zubin Mehta und Riccardo Muti. CD- und Videoaufnahmen dokumentieren diese glückliche Zusammenarbeit.
Oppitz hat immer wieder vollständige Werkzyklen im Konzert gespielt – Bachs Wohltemperiertes Klavier, die Sonaten von Beethoven, Schubert und Mozart, Grieg und vor allem das Klavierwerk von Johannes Brahms. In Europa, den USA und Japan führte er den kompletten Brahms-Sonaten-Zyklus auf. Beim Rheingau-Musikfestival spielte er alle Solowerke Schuberts in elf abendfüllenden Programmen. Seiner 1990 erschienenen Gesamtaufnahme mit sämtlichen Klavierwerken von Brahms folgte 1993 eine Einspielung der beiden Klavierkonzerte mit Sir Colin Davis, sowie eine Serie von sieben CDs mit den Klavierkompositionen von Edvard Grieg. Seine Aufnahme der Beethoven-Klavierkonzerte aus den Jahren 1995 und 1996 mit dem Leipziger Gewandhausorchester unter Marek Janowski ist exemplarisch. 1997 wurde Oppitz‘ Aufnahme sämtlicher Werke für Klavier und Orchester von Carl Maria von Weber, ebenfalls mit dem Sinfonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks unter Sir Colin Davis, veröffentlicht. Zuletzt erschienen Beethoven und Schubert-Sonaten und eine CD mit japanischer Klaviermusik.
Gerhard Oppitz erhielt 2009 den Brahms-Preis der Brahms-Gesellschaft Schleswig-Holstein, mit dem zuvor Leonard Bernstein und Lord Yehudi Menuhin ausgezeichnet worden waren. Seit 2014 ist er Träger des Bayerischen Maximiliansordens für Wissenschaft und Kunst, der höchsten Auszeichnung des Freistaats Bayern, mit dem im Jahr 1873 bereits Johannes Brahms geehrt worden war.

10
Do
Donnerstag, 10. Sep. 2020 | 20:00 Uhr
Bochum Anneliese Brost Musikforum Ruhr

Nachholtermin für das Konzert am 10. Mai 2020

WARTELISTE

Ihr Lieblings-Konzert ist bereits ausverkauft? Tragen Sie sich bitte in die Warteliste ein. Falls sich eine Chance auf Karten ergibt, kontaktieren wir Sie! Bitte benutzen Sie dieses Formular nur für jeweils eine Veranstaltung.