Maki Namekawa

Maki Namekawa studied piano at Kunitachi College of Music in Tokyo with professors Mikio Ikezawa and Henriette Puig-Roget. In 1994 she won the Leonid Kreutzer Prize in Japan. In 1995 she continued her studies with Werner Genuit and Kaya Han at Karlsruhe School of Music, where she completed her diploma as a soloist with special distinction. She then went on to perfect her artistry in Classical-Romantic repertoire with Edith Picht-Axenfeld, and in contemporary music with Pierre-Laurent Aimard (Cologne Musikhochschule), György Kurtág, Stefan Litwin, and Florent Boffard. She makes regular appearances at major international venues including Suntory Hall in Tokyo, Carnegie Hall and Lincoln Center in New York City, Cité de la Musique in Paris, the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, and Salzburg Festival. Namekawa has concertized with renowned ensembles such as the Royal Concertgebouw Orkest Amsterdam, the Munich Philharmonic Orchestra, the Bamberg Symphony, the Dresden Philharmonic, and Bruckner Orchestra in Linz (Austria). With the participation of Philip Glass, she performed the world premiere of his entire cycle of 20 Etudes in 2013 at the International Arts Festival in Perth, followed by a number of further concerts worldwide. In 2019 she performed the world premiere of Glass’s Piano Sonata, commissioned by the Festival. Maki Namekawa gave her very first performance at the Ruhr Piano Festival in 2002, participating in George Antheil’s Ballet Mécanique under the baton of Dennis Russell Davies.

Dennis Russell Davies and Maki Namekawa met for the first time at the Ruhr Piano Festival in 2002. Then, in 2003, after the resounding success of their joint performance at the Ars Electronica Festival in Linz, they decided to start appearing regularly as a piano duo. In the US they have guested in New York City, San Francisco, and other major cities. In Europe they have performed at a great number of events, including the Rheingau Festival (Germany), Klangspuren (Austria), and the Transart Festival (Italy). They also make regular appearances at the Ruhr Piano Festival. In 2008, on the occasion of the Ruhr Piano Festival’s 20th anniversary, the audience acclaimed their world premiere performance of Philip Glass’s Four Movements for Two Pianos, commissioned by the Festival. The American premiere thereof took place in 2009 at Lincoln Center Festival. In 2013 they teamed up with Katia and Marielle Labèque to present the world première of Glass’s Two Movements for Four Pianos, another Festival commission. In 2017 the annual Ruhr Piano Festival Prize was jointly awarded to Maki Namekawa, Dennis Russell Davies, and Philip Glass, three artists who have cultivated a fruitful friendship with the Festival for many years.

Their recording of Alexander Zemlinsky’s arrangement of The Magic Flute for piano four hands was first published as part of the Edition Klavier-Festival Ruhr in 2006: the music press promptly acclaimed this world premiere release. Two further releases followed in 2007 and 2009: Zemlinsky’s arrangement of Beethoven’s Fidelio (Vol. 16), and the boxed set American Piano Music (Vol. 21) with works by Leonard Bernstein, Aaron Copland and Philip Glass. In 2010 the duo recorded Zemlinsky’s four-hand arrangements of Haydn’s oratorios The Seasons and The Creation as Vol. 24 of the Edition Klavier-Festival Ruhr.

Wait List

Your favourite concert is already sold out? Please register yourself on the waiting list. If there is a chance for tickets, we will contact you!

Please use this form for one event only.

Maki Namekawa

Maki Namekawa studierte Klavier am Kunitachi Conservatory in Tokio bei Mikio Ikezawa und Henriette Puig-Roget. 1994 gewann sie den Leonid-Kreutzer-Preis. 1995 setzte sie ihr Studium bei Werner Genuit und Kaya Han an der Musikhochschule Karlsruhe fort, wo sie ihr Diplom mit Auszeichnung abschloss. Ihre künstlerische Arbeit im klassisch-romantischen Repertoire perfektionierte sie mit Edith Picht-Axenfeld, in der zeitgenössischen Musik mit Pierre-Laurent Aimard an der Musikhochschule Köln, György Kurtág, Stefan Litwin und Florent Boffard. Sie tritt regelmäßig an internationalen Häusern wie der Suntory Hall Tokyo, der Carnegie Hall und dem Lincoln Center New York, der Cité de la Musique Paris, dem Concertgebouw Amsterdam oder den Salzburger Festspielen auf. Sie konzertierte u.a. mit dem Royal Concertgebouw Orkest Amsterdam, den Münchner Philharmonikern, den Bamberger Symphonikern, der Dresdner Philharmonie und dem Bruckner Orchester Linz. 2013 spielte sie beim Perth International Arts Festival unter Beteiligung von Philip Glass die Uraufführung des gesamten Zyklus von Glass‘ 20 Etudes, gefolgt von zahlreichen weiteren Konzerten weltweit. 2019 brachte sie die im Auftrag des Klavier-Festivals Ruhr geschriebene Piano Sonata von Philip Glass zur Uraufführung. Ihr Debüt beim Klavier-Festival Ruhr gab sie bereits im Jahr 2002 bei der Aufführung des Ballet Mécanique von George Antheil unter dem Dirigat von Dennis Russell Davies.

Beim Klavier-Festival Ruhr 2002 begegneten sich Dennis Russell Davies und Maki Namekawa erstmals. 2003 beschlossen sie nach ihrem großen Erfolg beim Festival Ars Electronica in Linz, fortan regelmäßig als Klavierduo aufzutreten. In den USA gastierten sie u.a. in New York und San Francisco. In Europa trat das Duo u.a. beim Rheingau Festival, bei den Klangspuren Schwaz (Österreich), dem Festival Ars Electronica Linz sowie dem Festival Transart auf. Das Duo gastiert regelmäßig beim Klavier-Festival Ruhr. Anlässlich des 20-jährigen Bestehens des Klavier-Festivals Ruhr feierte das Publikum 2008 die Uraufführung der Four Movements for Two Pianos von Philip Glass, einer Auftragskomposition des Klavier-Festivals Ruhr. Die amerikanische Erstaufführung des Werkes fand 2009 beim Lincoln Center Festival in New York statt. 2013 folgte gemeinsam mit Katia und Marielle Labèque die Uraufführung von Philip Glass’ Two Movements for Four Pianos, ebenfalls eine Auftragskomposition des Klavier-Festivals Ruhr. 2017 erhielten Maki Namekawa, Dennis Russell Davies gemeinsam mit Philip Glass den Preis des Klavier-Festivals Ruhr, mit dem die drei Künstler eine langjährige Freundschaft verbindet.

Ihre Aufnahme von Zemlinskys Bearbeitung der „Zauberflöte“ für Klavier zu vier Händen erschien erstmals 2006 in der Edition Klavier-Festival Ruhr und wurde nicht zuletzt von der Fachpresse als Ersteinspielung hoch gelobt. 2007 und 2009 folgten Zemlinskys Bearbeitung des „Fidelio“ (Vol. 16) und „American Piano Music“ (Vol. 21) mit Werken von Leonard Bernstein, Aaron Copland und Philip Glass. 2010 spielte das Duo für die Edition als Vol. 24 Haydns „Jahreszeiten“ und „Schöpfung“, ebenfalls in der Bearbeitung Zemlinskys für Klavier zu vier Händen, ein.

Vergangene Konzerterlebnisse

WARTELISTE

Ihr Lieblings-Konzert ist bereits ausverkauft? Tragen Sie sich bitte in die Warteliste ein. Falls sich eine Chance auf Karten ergibt, kontaktieren wir Sie! Bitte benutzen Sie dieses Formular nur für jeweils eine Veranstaltung.