Paul Gulda

Paul Gulda was born in Vienna in 1961. His father was the pianist Friedrich Gulda, his mother the actress at the Burgtheater Paola Loew. He received his first piano lessons from Fritz Pauer and Roland Batik. From the age of 15, his father Friedrich Gulda taught him. Paul Gulda also studied recorder and clarinet at the MDW Vienna. From 1984 to 1987 he received final lessons with Rudolf Serkin in the USA. Paul Gulda first made a name for himself as a chamber musician, for example in a duo with Roland Batik, with Heinrich Schiff, the Hagen Quartet, Wolfgang Schulz, the Ensemble Wien-Berlin and others. As a soloist, he has performed with the Vienna Philharmonic and Vienna Symphony Orchestras, the Vienna RSO, the Mozarteum Orchestra, the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra and others. He has worked with conductors such as Kurt Masur, Zubin Mehta, Yehudi Menuhin and Vladimir Fedoseyev.
From 1996 onwards, Paul Gulda increasingly gained experience as an improviser, ensemble leader and composer. He composed stage music, performed in improvisation performances with jazz pianist Makoto Ozone, with cantor Shmuel Barzilai (Vienna Synagogue), with oud player and singer Marwan Abado (Beirut), with painter Erdmuthe Scherzer-Klinger, with Viennese singer Agnes Palmisano, cellist Erich O. Hütter and jazz musicians such as Harry Sokal and Fabian Rucker.
The concert project “Haydn alla Zingarese”, which was already created in 1993 in collaboration with Roma musicians, was updated for the Haydn Year 2009. In the Liszt Year 2011, the “Roma Rhapsody” was created, again in collaboration with Roma musicians.
His intensive engagement with the works of J.S. Bach also includes playing the harpsichord and clavichord.
From 2001-03 Paul Gulda was a guest professor at the Vienna University of Music, and from 2013-2016 he taught at the private AMADEUS music boarding school in Vienna.

Wait List

Your favourite concert is already sold out? Please register yourself on the waiting list. If there is a chance for tickets, we will contact you!

Please use this form for one event only.

Paul Gulda

Paul Gulda wurde 1961 in Wien geboren. Sein Vater ist der Pianist Friedrich Gulda, seine Mutter die Schauspielerin am Burgtheater Paola Loew. Seinen ersten Klavierunterricht erhielt er bei Fritz Pauer und Roland Batik. Ab seinem 15. Lebensjahr unterrichtete ihn sein Vater Friedrich Gulda. Paul Gulda studierte zudem Blockflöte und Klarinette an der MDW Wien. 1984 bis 1987 erhielt er abschließenden Unterricht bei Rudolf Serkin in den USA. Paul Gulda machte soch zunächst als Kammermusiker einen Namen, etwa im Duo mit Roland Batik, mit Heinrich Schiff, dem Hagen Quartett, Wolfgang Schulz, dem Ensemble Wien-Berlin und anderen. Als Solist konzertierte er mit den Wiener Philharmonikern und den Wiener Symphonikern, dem RSO Wien, dem Mozarteum-Orchester, dem Gewandhausorchester Leipzig und anderen. Dabei arbeitete er mit Dirigenten wie Kurt Masur, Zubin Mehta, Yehudi Menuhin, oder Wladimir Fedossejew zusammen.
Ab 1996 sammelte Paul Gulda zunehmend Erfahrungen als Improvisator, Ensembleleiter und Komponist. Er komponierte Bühnenmkusiken, trat bei Improvisationsperformances mit dem Jazzpianisten Makoto Ozone, mit Kantor Shmuel Barzilai (Synagoge Wien), mit Oud-Spieler und Sänger Marwan Abado (Beirut), mit der Malerin Erdmuthe Scherzer-Klinger, mit der Wiener Sängerin Agnes Palmisano, dem Cellisten Erich O. Hütter und Jazzmusikern wie Harry Sokal und Fabian Rucker auf.
Das bereits 1993 entstandene Konzertprojekt „Haydn alla Zingarese“, im Zusammenspiel mit Roma-Musikern, wurde zum Haydnjahr 2009 aktualisiert. Im Lisztjahr 2011 entstand, wieder in Zusammenarbeit mit Romamusikern, die „Roma-Rhapsody“.
Seine intensive Beschäftigung mit dem Werk von J.S. Bach schließt auch das Spiel auf Cembalo und Clavichord ein.
2001-03 war Paul Gulda Gastprofessor an der Musikuniversität Wien, 2013-2016 Dozent am privaten Musikinternat AMADEUS in Wien.

 

Paul Gulda beim Klavier-Festival Ruhr: 1 Konzert seit 2004

 2004      Essen
Solorezital im Rahmen der Konzertreihe „Österreichische Klavierschulen“, u.a. mit den Klaviersonaten Nr. 4 KV 282 und Nr. 13 KV 333 (315c) von Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, den „Eroica-Variationen“ op. 35 von Ludwig van Beethoven und Zehn Miniaturen von Friedrich Gulda

Vergangene Konzerterlebnisse

Mittwoch, 04. Mai 2022 | 20:00 Uhr
Hünxe Wasserschloss Gartrop

WARTELISTE

Ihr Lieblings-Konzert ist bereits ausverkauft? Tragen Sie sich bitte in die Warteliste ein. Falls sich eine Chance auf Karten ergibt, kontaktieren wir Sie! Bitte benutzen Sie dieses Formular nur für jeweils eine Veranstaltung.