Ronald Brautigam

Ronald Brautigam has deservedly earned a reputation as one of Holland’s most respected musicians, remarkable not only for his virtuosity and musicality but also for the eclectic nature of his musical interests. He has received numerous awards including the Dutch Music Prize and a 2010 MIDEM Classical Award for best concerto recording for his CD of Beethoven Piano Concertos with the Norrköping Symphony Orchestra conducted by Andrew Parrott.

Ronald Brautigam regularly performs with leading orchestras including the Royal Concertgebouw, City of Birmingham Symphony, BBC Philharmonic, Hong Kong Philharmonic, New Zealand Symphony Orchestra, Budapest Festival Orchestra, Orchestre National de France, Gewandhausorchester Leipzig and the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin. He has performed alongside a number of distinguished conductors including Riccardo Chailly, Charles Dutoit, Bernard Haitink, Frans Brüggen, Christopher Hogwood, Marek Janowski, Sir Roger Norrington, Edo de Waart, Marin Alsop, Ivor Bolton, Andrew Parrott, Ton Koopman, Ivan Fisher, Krzysztof Urbanski and Sir Mark Elder.

Besides his performances on modern instruments Ronald Brautigam has established himself as a leading exponent of the fortepiano, working with orchestras such as the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, 18th Century Orchestra, Tafelmusik, the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra, the Hanover band, Concerto Copenhagen and l’Orchestre des Champs-Elysées.

Highlights of the 2019/20 season include engagements with the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra, Netherlands Radio Orchestra, Het Gelders Orkest, Residentie Orkest, Wiener Akademie, Kölner Akademie, Aurora Orchestra, and NDR Radiophilharmonie. Recital engagements take Brautigam to venues including the Vienna Konzerthaus, De Bijloke and the Amsterdam Muziekgebouw. He also tours with regular duo partner Isabelle Van Keulen as well as performing Trio repertoire with Christian Poltéra and Esther Hoppe.

Ronald Brautigam’s highly successful association with BIS began in 1995. His extensive discography of over 50 discs for the label so far includes the complete works of Mozart and Haydn on fortepiano and Mendelssohn Piano Concertos with Nieuw Sinfonietta Amsterdam. In 2004 he released the first of his 17-CD Beethoven cycle on fortepiano, the 17th volume of which was released in April 2017. After the first six volumes the series had already become firmly established as the benchmark cycle on fortepiano. According to US magazine Fanfare “this could be a Beethoven piano-sonata cycle that challenges the very notion of playing this music on modern instruments, a stylistic paradigm shift.”

Besides his work for BIS, Ronald Brautigam has recorded piano concertos by Shostakovich, Hindemith and Frank Martin with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra conducted by Riccardo Chailly for Decca, and has made several recordings with his long-standing duo-partner, violinist Isabelle van Keulen. Brautigam’s recordings have earned a number of awards including two Edison Awards, a Diapason d’Or de l’année, a MIDEM Classical Award for best solo piano recording (2004) and in 2010 he won the MIDEM Classical Award for best concerto recording.

Ronald Brautigam was appointed a Professor at the Musik-Akademie in Basel in 2011.

concert Impressions

Website

04
Mo
Monday, 04. July 2022 | 20:00 h
Schwelm LEO Theatre at Ibach-Haus

€ 45 | 35 | 25

Wait List

Your favourite concert is already sold out? Please register yourself on the waiting list. If there is a chance for tickets, we will contact you!

Please use this form for one event only.

0

Ronald Brautigam

Ronald Brautigam, einer der bekanntesten Musiker der Niederlande, zählt international zu den führenden Pianisten seiner Generation. In seinem Spiel paaren sich große Virtuosität und Musikalität mit technischer Makellosigkeit. Brautigam ist zudem einer der wenigen Pianisten, die professionell sowohl auf dem Hammerklavier als auch auf modernen Instrumenten konzertieren.

Ronald Brautigam konzertierte mit renommierten Orchestern wie dem Königlichen Concertgebouw Orchester, dem London Philharmonic, BBC Philharmonic, Budapest Festival Orchestra, dem Orchestre National de France, Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra, Japan Philharmonic Orchestra, Sydney Symphony Orchestra, Orchester der Bayerischen Rundfunk, Gewandhaus-Orchester Leipzig, Bamberger Symphoniker und dem Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin unter Dirigenten wie Riccardo Chailly, Charles Dutoit, Bernard Haitink, Frans Brüggen, Christopher Hogwood, Marek Janowski, Sir Roger Norrington, Edo de Waart, Marin Alsop, Ivor Bolton, Andrew Parrott, Ton Koopman, Ivan Fisher, Krzysztof Urbanski und Sir Mark Elder.

Neben seinen Auftritten auf modernen Instrumenten hat sich Ronald Brautigam als führender Interpret auf dem Hammerflügel etabliert und arbeitet mit Orchestern wie dem Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, dem Orchestra of the 18th Century, Tafelmusik, dem Freiburger Barockorchester, Hanover Band, Concerto Copenhagen und dem Orchestre des Champs-Elysées zusammen.

Höhepunkte der Saison 2019/20 sind Engagements mit dem Atlanta Symphony Orchestra, Netherlands Radio Orchestra, Het Gelders Orkest, Residentie Orkest, Wiener Akademie, Kölner Akademie, Aurora Orchestra und NDR Radiophilharmonie. Rezital-Engagements führen Brautigam unter anderem in das Wiener Konzerthaus, De Bijloke und das Amsterdamer Muziekgebouw. Er tourt außerdem mit seiner festen Duo-Partnerin Isabelle van Keulen und spielt Trio-Repertoire mit Christian Poltéra und Esther Hoppe.

Ronald Brautigams sehr erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit mit BIS begann 1995. Seine umfangreiche Diskographie mit bisher über 50 Platten für das Label umfasst die Gesamtwerke von Mozart und Haydn auf dem Hammerklavier und Mendelssohns Klavierkonzerte mit der Nieuw Sinfonietta Amsterdam. Im Jahr 2004 veröffentlichte er die erste CD seines 17-CD-Beethoven-Zyklus auf dem Hammerklavier, dessen 17. CD im April 2017 veröffentlicht wurde. Bereits nach den ersten sechs Alben hatte sich die Serie als Referenzaufnahme für das Hammerklavier fest etabliert. Laut dem US-Magazin Fanfare „könnte dies ein Beethoven-Klaviersonaten-Zyklus sein, der die Vorstellung, diese Musik auf modernen Instrumenten zu spielen, in Frage stellt; ein stilistischen Paradigmenwechsel.“

Neben seiner Arbeit für BIS hat Ronald Brautigam Klavierkonzerte von Schostakowitsch, Hindemith und Frank Martin mit dem Royal Concertgebouw Orchester unter Riccardo Chailly für Decca aufgenommen und mehrere Aufnahmen mit seiner langjährigen Duo-Partnerin, der Geigerin Isabelle van Keulen, gemacht. Brautigams Aufnahmen wurden mit zahlreichen Preisen ausgezeichnet, darunter zwei Edison Awards, ein Diapason d’Or de l’année, ein MIDEM Classical Award für die beste Klavieraufnahme (2004) und 2010 der MIDEM Classical Award für die beste Konzertaufnahme.

Im September 2011 ist Ronald Brautigam als Professor an die Hochschule für Musik der Musik-Akademie Basel berufen worden

 

17
Do
Donnerstag, 17. Sep. 2020 | 20:00 Uhr
Hamm Gustav-Lübcke-Museum

Nachholtermin für das Konzert am 17. Mai 2020

20
So
Sonntag, 20. Sep. 2020 | 20:00 Uhr
Essen-Werden Haus Fuhr

Nachholtermin für das Konzert am 16. Mai 2020

WARTELISTE

Ihr Lieblings-Konzert ist bereits ausverkauft? Tragen Sie sich bitte in die Warteliste ein. Falls sich eine Chance auf Karten ergibt, kontaktieren wir Sie! Bitte benutzen Sie dieses Formular nur für jeweils eine Veranstaltung.