Simon Oslender

Born in Aachen, Germany, in 1998, Simon quickly developed musical interest. Inspired by his father’s drumming and his mother’s singing he had a strong connection to all kinds of music right from the start. It didn’t take long for him to abandon children’s music and dive into the world of his fathers record collection which consisted of classic rock, blues and soul music.

Simon began playing the drums at the age of two and, just a couple of years later, discovered the Hammond B3 organ when his father brought home a concert DVD of John Mayall and the Bluesbreakers with Tom Canning on organ. Simon was hooked after hearing the first couple of notes – it was the start of a deep connection to the organ and its musical surroundings.

During the first couple of years after his first encounter with the Hammond Organ, Simon developed his musicality by playing along to blues records by ear, eager to figure out what it was that his heroes played on the recordings. His progress was rapid and by the time he took his first classical piano lessons at the age of 8 he was already a capable blues pianist/organist and had gained his first experience playing in several local bands.

In the following years, Simon acquired more experience playing in local big bands and several other jazz ensembles in Germany and the Netherlands, won a number of Jazz awards and worked with great teachers and mentors, most notably one of his favorite pianists, Frank Chastenier.

Still in the middle of high school, 2010 was the year Simon started playing professionally at the age of 12. He teamed up with his close friend, drum virtuoso Jérôme Cardynaals and formed Twogether. The duo instantaneously won 3 awards at the prestigious Prinses Christina Jazz Concours in Amsterdam which served as a strong career start. In their 10 years of playing together, the dream team of Simon and Jérôme has toured all over Europe, worked with various greats of the Jazz world (Dr. Lonnie Smith, Nils Landgren a.o.) and produced two critically acclaimed albums.

At the same time, these events also started Simon’s career as a solo artist and sought-after session and live musician. At the age of 21, he is currently touring all around the globe with some of the most acclaimed artists in the music world with the mission to make the world a more soulful place and spread love through music.

Just recently, Simon has become a member of German drumming legend Wolfgang Haffner’s band as well as saxophone icon Bill Evans’ new band “Bill Evans & The Spykillers!”. In 2019, he joined the Jazz quartet of world star singer Thomas Quasthoff with Wolfgang Haffner and Dieter Ilg.

In 2020, it’s time for Simon’s first release as a leader. His debut album “About Time” will be released on January 31st, 2020 on Leopard Records. It consists of Oslender’s brand new original compositions which also feature an exciting cast of special guests: Randy Brecker, Bill Evans, Wolfgang Haffner, Christopher Dell and Ricky Peterson (also appearing as co-producer) are among the ones that helped make Simon’s dream a reality.

Wait List

Your favourite concert is already sold out? Please register yourself on the waiting list. If there is a chance for tickets, we will contact you!

Please use this form for one event only.

Simon Oslender

Geboren 1998 in Aachen begann Simon Oslender im Alter von zwei Jahren Schlagzeug zu spielen und entdeckte nur ein paar Jahre später die Hammond B3-Orgel, als sein Vater eine Konzert-DVD von John Mayall and the Bluesbreakers mit Tom Canning an der Orgel mit nach Hause brachte. Simon war nach den ersten paar Tönen süchtig – es war der Beginn einer tiefen Verbindung zur Orgel und ihrer musikalischen Umgebung.

In den ersten Jahren nach seiner ersten Begegnung mit der Hammond-Orgel entwickelte Simon seine Musikalität, indem er Bluesplatten nach Gehör nachspielte. Seine Fortschritte waren rasant, und als er im Alter von 8 Jahren seinen ersten klassischen Klavierunterricht nahm, war er bereits ein fähiger Blues-Pianist/Organist und hatte erste Erfahrungen in mehreren lokalen Bands gesammelt.

In den folgenden Jahren sammelte Simon weitere Erfahrungen in lokalen Bigbands und verschiedenen Jazz-Ensembles in Deutschland und den Niederlanden, gewann eine Reihe von Jazz-Preisen und arbeitete mit großartigen Lehrern und Mentoren zusammen, vor allem mit einem seiner Lieblingspianisten, Frank Chastenier.

2010, noch mitten in der High School, begann Simon im Alter von 12 Jahren professionell zu spielen. Er tat sich mit seinem engen Freund, dem Schlagzeugvirtuosen Jérôme Cardynaals, zusammen und gründete Twogether. Das Duo gewann auf Anhieb drei Preise beim prestigeträchtigen Prinses Christina Jazz Concours in Amsterdam, was als starker Karrierestart diente. In den 10 Jahren ihrer Zusammenarbeit tourte das Dreamteam Simon und Jérôme durch ganz Europa, arbeitete mit verschiedenen Größen der Jazzwelt (Dr. Lonnie Smith, Nils Landgren u.a.) und produzierte zwei von der Kritik gefeierte Alben.

Gleichzeitig starteten diese Ereignisse auch Simons Karriere als Solokünstler und gefragter Session- und Live-Musiker. Im Alter von 21 Jahren tourt er derzeit rund um den Globus mit einigen der renommiertesten Künstler der Musikwelt mit der Mission, die Welt zu einem gefühlvolleren Ort zu machen und Liebe durch Musik zu verbreiten.

Erst kürzlich wurde Simon Mitglied der Band der deutschen Schlagzeuger-Legende Wolfgang Haffner sowie der neuen Band „Bill Evans & The Spykillers!“ der Saxophon-Ikone Bill Evans. 2019 stößt er zum Jazz-Quartett von Weltstar-Sänger Thomas Quasthoff mit Wolfgang Haffner und Dieter Ilg.

Im Jahr 2020 ist es Zeit für Simons erste Veröffentlichung als Leader. Sein Debütalbum „About Time“ wird am 31. Januar 2020 auf Leopard Records erscheinen. Es besteht aus Oslenders brandneuen Originalkompositionen, die auch mit einer spannenden Besetzung von Special Guests aufwarten: Randy Brecker, Bill Evans, Wolfgang Haffner, Christopher Dell und Ricky Peterson (der auch als Co-Produzent auftritt) gehören zu denjenigen, die geholfen haben, Simons Traum zu verwirklichen.

Vergangene Konzerterlebnisse

Dienstag, 03. Mai 2022 | 20:00 Uhr
Oberhausen Ebertbad

WARTELISTE

Ihr Lieblings-Konzert ist bereits ausverkauft? Tragen Sie sich bitte in die Warteliste ein. Falls sich eine Chance auf Karten ergibt, kontaktieren wir Sie! Bitte benutzen Sie dieses Formular nur für jeweils eine Veranstaltung.