Di. 14. June '22 20:00 Uhr
Düsseldorf Robert-Schumann-Saal im Kunstpalast

Alexandre Kantorow



€ 65 | 55 | 45 | 35 | 25

Arcadi Volodos auf dem Klavierfestival Ruhr 2020

Unfortunately, Maria João Pires has to cancel her concert at the Ruhr Piano Festival due to illness, much to her and our regret. We thank Alexandre Kantorow for his spontaneous willingness to take over the concert.

J. S. Bach / Franz Liszt: Weinen, Klagen, Sorgen, Zagen S179
Robert Schumann: Sonata No. 1 in F sharp minor op. 11
Franz Liszt: Sonetto 104 del Petrarca S161 | Abschied S251 | La lugubre gondola S200/2 | Après une lecture du Dante
Alexander Skrjabin: Vers la Flamme op. 72

Christoph Willibald Gluck: Melodie, aus: Orfeo ed Euridice
Igor Strawinsky: Finale, aus: Der Feuervogel (Bearbeitung von Guido Agosti)
Taking over from the ill Maria João Pires, Alexandre Kantorow now makes his Festival debut, originally already planned for 2020. The young Frenchman has been acclaimed worldwide since his sensational victory at the prestigious 2019 Tchaikovsky Competition. Gramophone magazine called him a “fire-breathing virtuoso with a poetic charm and innate stylistic mastery”. In Vienna, he recently stood in for the ill Martha Argerich and was seen off with enthusiastic cheers. The Viennese Kronenzeitung called him a “fascinating pianist whose tonal resources are astounding”, and the Standard simply judged: “One of the best pianists in the world!” At his Düsseldorf concert, Kantorow demonstrates his virtuosity with works by Franz Liszt. Also on the programme are Robert Schumann’s great Sonata No. 1 in F sharp minor and Alexander Scriabin’s “Vers la Flamme”.

Add this concert to your agenda

Download agenda


hier downloaden

How to get there by car

Google Maps Generator by embedgooglemap.net

Venue address

Robert-Schumann-Saal im Kunstpalast

Ehrenhof 4-5

40479 Düsseldorf
How to get there by train
Sponsored by



Alexandre Kantorow

Alexandre Kantorow has been hailed by critics as the ‘young tsar of the piano’ (Classica) and ‘Liszt reincarnated’ (Fanfare), he has received numerous other awards and is already being invited at the highest level worldwide. In 2019, at the age of 22, he was the first French pianist to win the Gold Medal at the Tchaikovsky Competition as well as the Grand Prix, awarded only three times before in the competition’s history.


Robert-Schumann-Saal at Kunstpalast

Der Robert-Schumann-Saal, gestaltet als klassischer Kammermusiksaal mit rund 800 Sitzplätzen, ist eingebettet in das Museum Kunstpalast und bietet eine außergewöhnliche räumliche Verbindung zwisch...




Entdecken Sie folgende


Wait List

Your favourite concert is already sold out? Please register yourself on the waiting list. If there is a chance for tickets, we will contact you!

Please use this form for one event only.