Di. 27. June '23 20:00 Uhr
Bochum Anneliese Brost Musikforum Ruhr

Sir András Schiff

November Night


€ 75 | 65 | 55 | 35 | 25

Arcadi Volodos auf dem Klavierfestival Ruhr 2020

Luca Lombardi: November Night (commissioned by the Ruhr Piano Festival Foundation – world premiere)
Karl Amadeus Hartmann: Sonate „27. April 1945“
Leoš Janáček: Sonate 1.X.1905
and works by Joseph Haydn and Ludwig van Beethoven

Zugaben (vorweg gespielt):
Johann Sebastian Bach:
Aria, aus: Goldberg-Variationen BWV 988 | Dreistimmiges Ricercar, aus: Musikalisches Opfer BWV 1079
His Bach and Beethoven cycles are legendary, and he frequently features Haydn, Mozart, Brahms, and Schubert in his recital programmes. In addition, Sir András Schiff often combines piano works by Bach, Bartók, and Janáček to form fascinating sequences. In his view, his task as a pianist consists in kindling audiences’ curiosity and finding new connections among the pieces. “I am only interested in the best and greatest music. And there is so much of it for piano – a treasure that is like a gift”, he remarked once in an interview for the magazine of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra. Born in Hungary, András Schiff became a British citizen in 2001 and has been knighted by Queen Elizabeth II. This season marks his 24th appearance at the Ruhr Piano Festival. In his Bochum recital, apart from works by Schubert, András Schiff will also play two pieces inspired by historical events. Leoš Janáček composed his “Sonata 1.X.1905” as a homage to a murdered member of the working class; German composer Karl Amadeus Hartmann dealt with the horrors of the Nazi regime in his piano oeuvre. On the same occasion, Schiff will also perform the world premiere of “Novembernacht” by Italian composer Luca Lombardi, a work commissioned by the Ruhr Piano Festival.

Add this concert to your agenda

Download agenda


hier downloaden

How to get there by car

Google Maps Generator by embedgooglemap.net

Venue address

Anneliese Brost Musikforum Ruhr

Marienplatz 1

44787 Bochum
How to get there by train



Sir András Schiff

Born in Budapest in 1953, Sir András Schiff studied piano at the Liszt Ferenc Academy with Pál Kadosa, György Kurtág and Ferenc Rados; and in London with George Malcolm. Having collaborated with the world’s leading orchestras and conductors, he now focuses primarily on solo recitals, play-directing and conducting.


Anneliese Brost Musikforum Ruhr

After about 15 years of planning and construction, after countless actions and benefit events, thanks to the help of many sponsors and supporters, the Anneliese Brost Musikforum Ruhr was opened in Boc...




Entdecken Sie folgende


Wait List

Your favourite concert is already sold out? Please register yourself on the waiting list. If there is a chance for tickets, we will contact you!

Please use this form for one event only.