Daniil Trifonov

Grammy Award-winning Russian pianist Daniil Trifonov – Musical America’s 2019 Artist of the Year – has made a spectacular ascent of the classical music world, as a solo artist, champion of the concerto repertoire, chamber and vocal collaborator, and composer. Combining consummate technique with rare sensitivity and depth, his performances are a perpetual source of awe. “He has everything and more … tenderness and also the demonic element. I never heard anything like that,” marveled pianist Martha Argerich. With Transcendental, the Liszt collection that marked his third title as an exclusive Deutsche Grammophon artist, Trifonov won the Grammy Award for Best Instrumental Solo Album of 2018. As The Times of London notes, he is “without question the most astounding pianist of our age.”

Fall 2020 brought the release of Silver Age, an album of Russian solo and orchestral piano music by Scriabin, Prokofiev and Stravinsky, recorded with Valery Gergiev and the Mariinsky Orchestra. This followed 2019’s Destination Rachmaninov: Arrival, for which Trifonov received a 2021 Grammy nomination. Presenting the composer’s First and Third Concertos, Arrival represents the third volume of the Deutsche Grammophon series he recorded with the Philadelphia Orchestra and Nézet-Séguin, following Destination Rachmaninov: Departure, named BBC Music’s 2019 Concerto Recording of the Year, and Rachmaninov: Variations, a 2015 Grammy nominee. Deutsche Grammophon has also issued Chopin Evocations, which pairs the composer’s works with those by the 20th-century composers he influenced, and Trifonov: The Carnegie Recital, the pianist’s first recording as an exclusive Deutsche Grammophon artist; capturing Trifonov’s sold-out 2013 Carnegie Hall recital debut live, the album scored him his first Grammy nomination.

Highlights of recent seasons include a multi-faceted, season-long tenure as 2019-20 Artist-in-Residence of the New York Philharmonic, featuring a collaboration with Jaap van Zweden and the New York premiere of Trifonov’s own Piano Quintet, and a seven-concert, season-long Carnegie Hall “Perspectives” series, crowned by a performance of the pianist’s own piano concerto with Gergiev and the Mariinsky Orchestra. As well as curating similar series at the Vienna Konzerthaus and in San Francisco, Trifonov played Tchaikovsky’s First under Muti in the historic gala finale of the Chicago Symphony’s 125th-anniversary celebrations; launched the New York Philharmonic’s 2018-19 season; headlined complete Rachmaninoff concerto cycles at the New York Philharmonic’s Rachmaninoff Festival and with London’s Philharmonia Orchestra and the Munich Philharmonic; undertook season-long residencies with the Berlin Philharmonic and at Vienna’s Musikverein, where he appeared with the Vienna Philharmonic and gave the Austrian premiere of his own Piano Concerto; and headlined the Berlin Philharmonic’s famous New Year’s Eve concert under Sir Simon Rattle. The pianist has given Asian tours with the Cleveland Orchestra, Czech Philharmonic and Rome’s Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia and European tours with the London Philharmonic, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, and La Scala Orchestra. Since making solo recital debuts at Carnegie Hall, London’s Wigmore Hall, Vienna’s Musikverein, Japan’s Suntory Hall, and Paris’s Salle Pleyel in 2012-13, Trifonov has given solo recitals at venues including the Kennedy Center in Washington DC; Boston’s Celebrity Series; London’s Barbican, Royal Festival and Queen Elizabeth Halls; Amsterdam’s Concertgebouw (Master Piano Series); Berlin’s Philharmonie; Munich’s Herkulessaal; Bavaria’s Schloss Elmau; Zurich’s Tonhalle; the Lucerne Piano Festival; the Palais des Beaux-Arts in Brussels, the Théâtre des Champs Élysées and Auditorium du Louvre in Paris; Barcelona’s Palau de la Musica; Tokyo’s Opera City; the Seoul Arts Center; and Melbourne’s Recital Centre.

It was during the 2010-11 season that Trifonov won medals at three of the music world’s most prestigious competitions, taking Third Prize in Warsaw’s Chopin Competition, First Prize in Tel Aviv’s Rubinstein Competition, and both First Prize and Grand Prix – an additional honor bestowed on the best overall competitor in any category – in Moscow’s Tchaikovsky Competition. In 2013 he was awarded the prestigious Franco Abbiati Prize for Best Instrumental Soloist by Italy’s foremost music critics, and in 2016 he was named Gramophone’s Artist of the Year.

Born in Nizhny Novgorod in 1991, Trifonov began his musical training at the age of five, and went on to attend Moscow’s Gnessin School of Music as a student of Tatiana Zelikman, before pursuing his piano studies with Sergei Babayan at the Cleveland Institute of Music. He has also studied composition, and continues to write for piano, chamber ensemble, and orchestra. When he premiered his own Piano Concerto, the Cleveland Plain Dealer marveled: “Even having seen it, one cannot quite believe it. Such is the artistry of pianist-composer Daniil Trifonov.”

concert Impressions

Video

Website

Wait List

Your favourite concert is already sold out? Please register yourself on the waiting list. If there is a chance for tickets, we will contact you!

Please use this form for one event only.

Daniil Trifonov

Der 1991 in Nischni Nowgorod geborene Trifonov begann seine musikalische Ausbildung im Alter von fünf Jahren und besuchte die Moskauer Gnessin School of Music als Schüler von Tatiana Zelikman, bevor er sein Klavierstudium bei Sergei Babayan am Cleveland Institute of Music fortsetzte. Er studierte zudem Komposition und schreibt Werke für Klavier, Kammerensemble und Orchester.

Im Herbst 2020 erschien „Silver Age“, ein Album mit russischer Solo- und Orchesterklaviermusik von Skrjabin, Prokofjew und Strawinsky, aufgenommen mit Valery Gergiev und dem Mariinsky-Orchester. Es folgte 2019 das Album „Destination Rachmaninov: Arrival“, für das Trifonov 2021 eine Grammy-Nominierung erhielt. Arrival, das das Erste und das Dritte Konzert des Komponisten präsentiert, ist die dritte Edition der Deutsche Grammophon-Reihe, die er mit dem Philadelphia Orchestra und Nézet-Séguin aufgenommen hat – nach „Destination Rachmaninov: Departure“, das von BBC Music zur Konzerteinspielung des Jahres 2019 gekürt wurde, und Rachmaninov: Variations, das 2015 für einen Grammy nominiert wurde. Beim Deutschen Grammophon erschienen außerdem „Chopin Evocations“, das Werke des Komponisten mit denen der von ihm beeinflussten Komponisten des 20. Jahrhunderts kombiniert, und „Trifonov: The Carnegie Recital“, die erste Aufnahme des Pianisten als Exklusivkünstler beim Deutsche Grammophon; das Album hält Trifonovs ausverkauftes Debüt in der Carnegie Hall 2013 live fest und brachte ihm seine erste Grammy-Nominierung ein.

Zu den Höhepunkten der letzten Spielzeiten gehören eine facettenreiche, saisonübergreifende Tätigkeit als Artist-in-Residence der New Yorker Philharmoniker 2019-2020, die eine Zusammenarbeit mit Jaap van Zweden und die New Yorker Premiere von Trifonovs eigenem Klavierquintett ermöglichte, sowie eine sieben Konzerte umfassende, saisonübergreifende Carnegie-Hall-Reihe „Perspectives“, die von einer Aufführung des eigenen Klavierkonzerts des Pianisten mit Gergiev und dem Mariinsky-Orchester gekrönt wurde. Neben der Kuratierung ähnlicher Reihen im Wiener Konzerthaus und in San Francisco spielte Trifonov Tschaikowskys 1. Klavierkonzert unter Muti im historischen Gala-Finale der Feierlichkeiten zum 125-jährigen Bestehen des Chicago Symphony Orchestra; Er eröffnete die Saison 2018/19 der New Yorker Philharmoniker; Er leitete komplette Rachmaninoff-Konzertzyklen beim Rachmaninoff-Festival der New Yorker Philharmoniker sowie mit dem Philharmonia Orchestra London und den Münchner Philharmonikern; er gastierte eine Saison lang bei den Berliner Philharmonikern und im Wiener Musikverein, wo er mit den Wiener Philharmonikern auftrat und die österreichische Erstaufführung seines eigenen Klavierkonzerts gab und er stand im Mittelpunkt des berühmten Silvesterkonzerts der Berliner Philharmoniker unter Sir Simon Rattle. Der Pianist unternahm Asien-Tourneen mit dem Cleveland Orchestra, der Tschechischen Philharmonie und dem Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rom sowie Europa-Tourneen mit dem London Philharmonic, dem Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra und dem La Scala Orchestra. Seit seinen Solorezitaldebüts in der Carnegie Hall, der Londoner Wigmore Hall, dem Wiener Musikverein, der japanischen Suntory Hall und dem Pariser Salle Pleyel in den Jahren 2012/13 gab Trifonov Solorezitale u. a. im Kennedy Center in Washington DC, in der Boston Celebrity Series, in den Londoner Barbican, dem Royal Festival und Queen Elizabeth Halls, im Amsterdamer Concertgebouw (Master Piano Series); in der Berliner Philharmonie, dem Münchner Herkulessaal, Schloss Elmau, der Tonhalle Zürich, beim Lucerne Piano Festival, dem Palais des Beaux-Arts in Brüssel, dem Théâtre des Champs Élysées und dem Auditorium du Louvre in Paris, im Palau de la Musica in Barcelona, der Opera City in Tokio, dem Seoul Arts Center sowie dem Melbourne Recital Centre.

In der Saison 2010/11 gewann Trifonov Preise bei drei der renommiertesten Wettbewerbe der Musikwelt: den dritten Preis beim Chopin-Wettbewerb in Warschau, den ersten Preis beim Rubinstein-Wettbewerb in Tel Aviv und sowohl den ersten Preis als auch den Grand Prix – eine zusätzliche Auszeichnung für den besten Teilnehmer einer Kategorie – beim Tschaikowsky-Wettbewerb in Moskau. Im Jahr 2013 wurde er von Italiens führenden Musikkritikern mit dem prestigeträchtigen Franco-Abbiati-Preis für den besten Instrumentalsolisten ausgezeichnet, und 2016 wurde er von Gramophone zum Künstler des Jahres ernannt.

 

Daniil Trifonov beim Klavier-Festival Ruhr: 5 Konzerte seit 2012

2012      Düsseldorf
Debütkonzert als 1. Preisträger des Arthur Rubinstein Klavierwettbewerbs Tel Aviv 2011 und des XIV. Tschaikowsky Wettbewerbs Moskau 2011 im Rahmen der Reihe „Die Besten der Besten“, u.a. mit Sonate Nr. 3 op. 73 von Alexander Skrjabin und 12 Etüden op. 25 von Frédéric Chopin

2013      Mülheim an der Ruhr
Solorezital, u.a. mit Variationen über ein Thema von Frédéric Chopin op. 22 von Sergej Rachmaninow

2015      Mülheim an der Ruhr
Solorezital, u.a. mit Sonate Nr. 32 op. 111 von Ludwig van Beethoven und Douze études d’exécution transcendante S 139 von Franz Liszt

2016      Dortmund
Solorezital, u.a. mit Chaconne von J.S. Bach aus der Partita Nr. 2 in d-Moll (für die linke Hand allein) aus „Fünf Studien für das Pianoforte“ und Variationen über ein Thema von Niccolò Paganini op. 35, Heft I von Johannes Brahms

2022      Wuppertal
Liederabend mit Matthias Goerne und Liedern von Robert Schumann (Dichterliebe op. 48), Alban Berg, Hugo Wolf, Dmitri Schostakowitsch und Johannes Brahms

Konzertimpressionen

Video

Website

Vergangene Konzerterlebnisse

Vergangene Konzerterlebnisse

Samstag, 11. Juni 2022 | 20:00 Uhr
Wuppertal Historische Stadthalle

WARTELISTE

Ihr Lieblings-Konzert ist bereits ausverkauft? Tragen Sie sich bitte in die Warteliste ein. Falls sich eine Chance auf Karten ergibt, kontaktieren wir Sie! Bitte benutzen Sie dieses Formular nur für jeweils eine Veranstaltung.