Pavel Kolesnikov

Pavel Kolesnikov

In 2012 pianist Pavel Kolesnikov became a sensation at the Honens International Piano Competition when he took home the world’s largest piano prize. The London-based pianist was born in Siberia into a family of scientists. He studied both the piano and violin for ten years, before concentrating solely on the piano. He has studied at Moscow State Conservatory with Sergey Dorensky, at London’s Royal College of Music with Norma Fisher and at Brussels’ Queen Elisabeth Music Chapel with Maria João Pires thanks to the generous support of Mr Christopher D Budden, the RCM Scholarship Foundation and Hattori Foundation. Pavel is the recipient of the Milstein Medal and is the RCM Benjamin Britten Piano Fellow, and was a member of BBC Radio 3’s New Generation Artists from 2014 to 2016.

Celebrated for his imaginative, thought-provoking programming which offers the listener a fresh, often unexpected perspective on familiar pieces, Pavel has given recitals at the Wigmore Hall and Queen Elizabeth Hall, London, as part of the international Piano Series, Carnegie Hall in New York, and Berlin’s Konzerthaus, the Louvre and Salle Gaveau in Paris, Suntory Hall in Tokyo, and the Muziekgebouw in Amsterdam. In recent years he also performed at La Roque d’Antheron festival, the Musiq3 Festival in Brussels, Piano aux Jacobins in Toulouse, and the Aldeburgh Festival, among others.

An avid ensemble player, Kolesnikov regularly performs in piano duo with Samson Tsoy and collaborates with other musicians such as cellist Narek Hakhnazaryan, the Hermes String Quartet and the Calidore String Quartet. In 2019 he performed the complete cycle of Brahms violin and viola sonatas with Lawrence Power. He formed Trio Aventure with Elina Buksha and Aurelien Pascal.

Kolesnikov records for Hyperion, with repertoire ranging from rarely heard harpsichord pieces by Louis Couperin to Tchaikovsky’s The Seasons. His Chopin Mazurkas album won Diapason d’Or de l’annee, one of world’s most prestigious awards in the area of recording. The Guardian gave Bach’s Goldberg Variations five stars and wrote: ‘Kolesnikov’s Goldbergs are softly spoken, but they are also extraordinarily eloquent.’ His last album “Poèmes & Valses of Reynaldo Hahn appeared in June 2022.

He collaborated with legendary Belgian dancer Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker on a new choreographic work based on the Goldberg Variations which was premiered in August 2020 at the Wiener Festwochen and is currently touring the world.
In 2019, together with Samson Tsoy, Kolesnikov started Ragged Music Festival at the Ragged School Museum, former “ragged school” of Dr Barnardo in London’s East End. In the same year Kolesnikov was honoured with the Critics’ Circle Young Talent Award 2019 for piano, praised for his “intensely personal interpretations, often daring in their originality” and his “crusading vision”.

Video

Website

16
Su
Sunday, 16. June 2024 | 18:00 h
Schwelm  LEO Theatre at Ibach-Haus

€ 45 | 35 | 25

Only 33 Tickets left!

Wait List

Your favourite concert is already sold out? Please register yourself on the waiting list. If there is a chance for tickets, we will contact you!

Please use this form for one event only.

Pavel Kolesnikov

Pavel Kolesnikov

Im Jahr 2012 gewann Pavel Kolesnikov die Honens International Piano Competition. Der in London ansässige Pianist wurde in Sibirien in eine Familie von Wissenschaftlern geboren. Er studierte zehn Jahre lang sowohl Klavier als auch Violine, bevor er sich ausschließlich auf das Klavier konzentrierte. Er hat am Moskauer Konservatorium bei Sergey Dorensky, am Royal College of Music in London bei Norma Fisher und an der Queen Elisabeth Music Chapel in Brüssel bei Maria João Pires studiert, dank der großzügigen Unterstützung von Herrn Christopher D Budden, der RCM Scholarship Foundation und der Hattori Foundation. Pavel ist Träger der Milstein-Medaille und RCM Benjamin Britten Piano Fellow sowie Mitglied der New Generation Artists von BBC Radio 3 von 2014 bis 2016.

Bekannt für seine einfallsreichen und durchdachten Programme, die dem Hörer eine frische, oft unerwartete Perspektive auf vertraute Stücke bieten, hat Kolesnikov Klavierabende in der Wigmore Hall und der Queen Elizabeth Hall in London im Rahmen der International Piano Series, in der Carnegie Hall in New York, im Konzerthaus Berlin, im Louvre und in der Salle Gaveau in Paris, in der Suntory Hall in Tokio und im Muziekgebouw in Amsterdam gegeben. In den letzten Jahren trat er unter anderem beim La Roque d’Antheron Festival, beim Musiq3 Festival in Brüssel, bei Piano aux Jacobins in Toulouse und beim Aldeburgh Festival auf.

Als begeisterter Ensemble-Spieler tritt Kolesnikov regelmäßig im Klavierduo mit Samson Tsoy auf und arbeitet mit anderen Musikern wie dem Cellisten Narek Hakhnazaryan, dem Hermes String Quartet und dem Calidore String Quartet zusammen. Im Jahr 2019 spielte er den kompletten Zyklus der Brahms-Violin- und Violasuiten mit Lawrence Power. Er gründete das Trio Aventure mit Elina Buksha und Aurelien Pascal.

Kolesnikov nimmt für Hyperion auf, mit einem Repertoire, das von selten gehörten Cembalostücken von Louis Couperin bis zu Tschaikowskis “Die Jahreszeiten” reicht. Sein Album mit Chopins Mazurkas gewann den Diapason d’Or de l’année, einen der weltweit renommiertesten Preise im Bereich der Aufnahmen. The Guardian gab Bachs Goldberg-Variationen fünf Sterne und schrieb: “Kolesnikovs Goldberg-Variationen sind leise, aber sie sind auch außerordentlich beredt.” Sein letztes Album “Poèmes & Valses of Reynaldo Hahn” erschien im Juni 2022.

Er arbeitete mit der legendären belgischen Tänzerin Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker an einer neuen choreografischen Arbeit basierend auf den Goldberg-Variationen, die im August 2020 bei den Wiener Festwochen uraufgeführt wurde und derzeit weltweit auf Tournee ist.

Im Jahr 2019 gründeten Kolesnikov und Samson Tsoy das Ragged Music Festival im Ragged School Museum, der ehemaligen “ragged school” von Dr. Barnardo im Londoner East End. Im selben Jahr wurde Kolesnikov mit dem Critics’ Circle Young Talent Award 2019 für Klavier ausgezeichnet, gelobt für seine “intensiv persönlichen Interpretationen, oft kühn in ihrer Originalität” und seine “kämpferische Vision”.

16
So
Sonntag, 16. Juni 2024 | 18:00 Uhr
Schwelm  LEO Theater im Ibach-Haus

€ 45 | 35 | 25

Nur noch 33 Karten!

WARTELISTE

Ihr Lieblings-Konzert ist bereits ausverkauft? Tragen Sie sich bitte in die Warteliste ein. Falls sich eine Chance auf Karten ergibt, kontaktieren wir Sie! Bitte benutzen Sie dieses Formular nur für jeweils eine Veranstaltung.