Sa. 09. July '22

20:00 Uhr

Recklinghausen

Festspielhaus

Michel Camilo

Laureate of the Ruhr Piano Festival 2019

Closing Concert - JazzLine

€ 55 | 45 | 35 | 25

Arcadi Volodos auf dem Klavierfestival Ruhr 2020

Um das Video abzuspielen, klicken Sie auf das Künstlerbild.

If any pianist has been a true regular guest at the Festival, it has surely been Michel Camilo. This year he is performing at the Festival for the 19th time! In 2019 he was awarded the Ruhr Piano Festival Prize to honor his life achievement, his faithfulness to the Festival and, last not least, his thrilling “Jazz for Children” concerts. Camilo has already presented so many facets of his musical personality at the Festival: as a solo jazz pianist, in trio formation, with the WDR Big Band, and in unforgettable encounters with sensitive duo partners including Cuban keyboard giant Chucho Valdés, saxophone stylist Joe Lovano, or the renowned flamenco guitarist Tomatito.

Born in the Dominican Republic, Camilo arrived in New York City in 1979 and played his way into the upper league of the jazz scene while still remaining true to Classical music. His recording of Gershwin’s “Rhapsody in Blue” won a Latin Grammy for Best Classical Album, and his trio album “Live at the Blue Note” won a Grammy Award for Best Latin Jazz Album. In Recklinghausen he will play solo piano, featuring a choice mix of jazz standards, Latin American classics, and original compositions. Thanks to Michel Camilo’s lively temperament, we will enjoy an evening of thrilling piano music performed by the most outstanding jazz musician who hails from the Dominican Republic.
Add this concert to your agenda

How to get there by car

Google Maps Generator by embedgooglemap.net
Venue address

Festspielhaus

Otto-Burrmeister-Allee 1

45657 Recklinghausen
How to get there by train
Sponsored by
More

Informations

Michel Camilo

Michel Camilo was born in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. He studied for 13 years at the National Conservatory earning a degree of Professorship in Music and at the age of 16 became the youngest me...

MEHR ERFAHREN

Festspielhaus

The Ruhrfestspielhaus was built between 1960 and 1965 and has been the main venue for the annual Ruhr Festival since its opening. It is located on the Grüner Hügel, a natural hill in the city garden...

MEHR ERFAHREN

Entdecken Sie folgende

ABONNEMENTS

Wait List

Your favourite concert is already sold out? Please register yourself on the waiting list. If there is a chance for tickets, we will contact you!

Please use this form for one event only.

Sa. 09. Juli '22

20:00 Uhr

Recklinghausen

Ruhrfestspielhaus

Michel Camilo

Preisträger des Klavier-Festivals Ruhr 2019

Abschlusskonzert - JazzLine

€ 55 | 45 | 35 | 25

Arcadi Volodos auf dem Klavierfestival Ruhr 2020

Um das Video abzuspielen, klicken Sie auf das Künstlerbild.

Wenn einer beim Klavier-Festival Ruhr als Stammgast gelten kann, dann zweifellos Michel Camilo. Zum 19. Mal tritt er nun hier auf. Für sein Lebenswerk, seine Treue zum Festival und nicht zuletzt seine begeisternden „Jazz for Children“-Konzerte wurde er 2019 mit dem Preis des Klavier-Festivals Ruhr ausgezeichnet. Wie viele Facetten seiner musikalischen Persönlichkeit hat er hier schon vorgestellt: Solo und im Trio war er zu hören, mit der WDR Big Band und in unvergesslichen Begegnungen mit kongenialen Duopartnern wie dem kubanischen Tastengiganten Chucho Valdés, dem Saxophonstilisten Joe Lovano oder dem Flamencostar Tomatito.

Geboren in der Dominikanischen Republik, kam Camilo 1979 nach New York, spielte sich rasch in die Oberliga der Jazzszene, blieb aber immer auch der klassischen Musik verbunden. Seine Einspielung von George Gershwins „Rhapsody in Blue“ wurde als „Bestes Klassikalbum“ mit einem Latin Grammy, das Trioalbum „Live at the Blue Note“ als „Bestes Latin-Jazzalbum“ mit einem Grammy ausgezeichnet. In Recklinghausen präsentiert er sich jetzt allein am Klavier, was einen erlesenen Mix aus Standards, Latin-Klassikern und Camilo-Originals verspricht, temperamentvoll gespielt vom bedeutendsten Jazzmusiker, den die „Dom-Rep“ hervorgebracht hat.
Konzert im Kalender eintragen

Anreise mit dem PKW

Google Maps Generator by embedgooglemap.net
Adresse Spielstätte

Ruhrfestspielhaus

Otto-Burrmeister-Allee 1

45657 Recklinghausen
Fahrplan der Bahn
Wir danken unserem Generalsponsor und unserem Hauptförderer 2022
Weitere

Informationen

Michel Camilo

Michel Camilo wurde in Santo Domingo, Dominikanische Republik, geboren. Er studierte 13 Jahre lang am National Conservatory und erhielt einen Abschluss als Professor für Musik. Im Alter von 16 Jahren...

MEHR ERFAHREN

Ruhrfestspielhaus

Das Ruhrfestspielhaus wurde zwischen 1960 und 1965 errichtet und ist seit seiner Eröffnung Hauptaustragungsort der jährlichen Ruhrfestspiele. Es befindet sich auf dem Grünen Hügel, einer natürlic...

MEHR ERFAHREN

Entdecken Sie folgende

ABONNEMENTS

WARTELISTE

Ihr Lieblings-Konzert ist bereits ausverkauft? Tragen Sie sich bitte in die Warteliste ein. Falls sich eine Chance auf Karten ergibt, kontaktieren wir Sie! Bitte benutzen Sie dieses Formular nur für jeweils eine Veranstaltung.