Mo. 05. June '23

20:00 Uhr

Essen

Lichtburg Essen

Helge Schneider

Charlie Chaplin: The Kid

Arcadi Volodos auf dem Klavierfestival Ruhr 2020

n

When Charlie Chaplin’s film “The Kid” hit German cinemas in 1923, the country had reached a high point in inflation, and child poverty had grown out of proportion – certainly one of the reasons why Chaplin’s story of a down-and-out tramp who adopts an abandoned child, facing the hardships of life together with him, was such a success: “Because this film appeals to our primeval instincts; because the protagonist needs to win in a world where only remnants of civilization persist. Because we observe someone who has overcome the odds: although he is a member of the underclass, he does everything in his power to triumph.” Kurt Tucholsky described the film’s charm with those words in a review for the Deutsche Allgemeine Zeitung. This year, in collaboration with the Lichtburg cinema in Essen, we present Chaplin’s silent film in an exclusive performance featuring music improvised live at the piano by the fantastic all-round talent Helge Schneider. This wonderful humorist, actor and multi-instrumentalist is Chaplin’s kindred spirit: Tucholsky’s description of Chaplin could also apply to Schneider. “Like all great comedians, he is a philosopher. And he shows how ridiculous it is to be an adult when we take ourselves too seriously. Don’t miss this film. You will die laughing, and for that laughter you will be grateful the rest of your life!”
Add this concert to your agenda

How to get there by car

Google Maps Generator by embedgooglemap.net
Venue address

Lichtburg Essen

Kettwiger Str. 36

45127 Essen
How to get there by train
Sponsored by
More

Informations

Helge Schneider

Helge Schneider was born in Mülheim an der Ruhr in 1955. He began playing the piano at the age of five and took cello lessons at seven. However, he dropped out of school and began an apprenticeship a...

MEHR ERFAHREN

Lichtburg

The Lichtburg is the jewel in the crown of German cinema culture and tradition. For 90 years it has impressed with its grandiose architecture, incomparable atmosphere and special film selection. Opene...

MEHR ERFAHREN

Recommended

Concerts

Entdecken Sie folgende

ABONNEMENTS

Wait List

Your favourite concert is already sold out? Please register yourself on the waiting list. If there is a chance for tickets, we will contact you!

Please use this form for one event only.

Mo. 05. Juni '23

20:00 Uhr

Essen

Lichtburg Essen

Helge Schneider

Charlie Chaplin: The Kid

€ 35 | ermäßigt 25

Arcadi Volodos auf dem Klavierfestival Ruhr 2020

Helge Schneider (Live-Improvisation)

Als 1923 Charlie Chaplins Film „The Kid“ in die deutschen Kinos kam, befand sich das Land auf dem Höhepunkt der Inflation, und die Kinderarmut war immens. Wohl gerade deshalb war die Geschichte von dem armen Tramp, der ein Findelkind aufnimmt und sich mit ihm durch’s Leben schlägt, so ein Riesenerfolg: „Weil er an die Urinstinkte appelliert. Weil er überall siegen muß, wo es auch nur Andeutungen einer Zivilisation gibt. Weil hier ein Sieger des Lebens ist, der zwar den Unterdrückten angehört, aber doch – mit allen Mitteln arbeitend – triumphiert.“ – so Kurt Tucholsky in der „Deutschen Allgemeinen Zeitung“ über den Film. Gemeinsam mit dem Kino „Lichtburg“ zeigen wir Chaplins Stummfilm in einer exklusiven Aufführung mit dem großartigen Musiker Helge Schneider, der die Filmmusik live am Klavier improvisieren wird. Dieser wunderbare Humorist, Schauspieler und Multiinstrumentalist ist Chaplins Bruder im Geiste – wie sehr, zeigen Tucholskys Sätze über Chaplin, die ebenso für Helge Schneider gelten: „Er ist, wie alle großen Komiker, ein Philosoph. Und er zeigt, wie lächerlich es ist, ein erwachsener Mensch zu sein, der sich ernst nimmt. Versäumen Sie nicht, ihn sich anzusehen. Sie lachen sich kaputt und werden ihm für dieses Lachen dankbar sein, solange Sie leben!“
Konzert im Kalender eintragen

Anreise mit dem PKW

Google Maps Generator by embedgooglemap.net
Adresse Spielstätte

Lichtburg Essen

Kettwiger Str. 36

45127 Essen
Fahrplan der Bahn
Wir danken unserem Sponsor-Partner
Weitere

Informationen

Helge Schneider

Helge Schneider wurde 1955 in Mülheim an der Ruhr geboren. Mit fünf Jahren begann er mit dem Klavierspiel, mit sieben nahm er Cello-Unterricht. Die Schule indes brach er ab und begann eine Lehre als...

MEHR ERFAHREN

Lichtburg

Die Lichtburg ist das Prachtstück deutscher Kinokultur und -tradition. Seit 90 Jahren beeindruckt sie mit grandioser Architektur, unvergleichlicher Atmosphäre und besonderer Filmauswahl. 1928 eröff...

MEHR ERFAHREN

Konzert

Empfehlungen

Entdecken Sie folgende

ABONNEMENTS

WARTELISTE

Ihr Lieblings-Konzert ist bereits ausverkauft? Tragen Sie sich bitte in die Warteliste ein. Falls sich eine Chance auf Karten ergibt, kontaktieren wir Sie! Bitte benutzen Sie dieses Formular nur für jeweils eine Veranstaltung.