Di. 23. May '23

20:00 Uhr

Bochum

Anneliese Brost Musikforum Ruhr

Igor Levit | Fred Hersch

"Mirrors"

€ 65 | 60 | 55 | 35 | 25

Arcadi Volodos auf dem Klavierfestival Ruhr 2020

Igor Levit still falls into raptures when he recalls his first encounter with Fred Hersch on the occasion of one of Hersch’s concerts at the Village Vanguard in New York. “That way of piano playing, of making music at the piano, that continual exhalation of musical breath: I was blown away! I went backstage to congratulate Fred and expressed my admiration. We remained in contact, and a close, valuable friendship started to develop.” That friendship continued to grow. “To me, Fred is more than an important friend. The man is one of my idols, and I mean it seriously. As a human being and as an artist, he is a fixed star in my firmament.”

For several years, Levit has been featuring Hersch’s music in his programmes, and he will likewise do so on the occasion of his appearance on 22 May in Wuppertal. Then, for his recital in Bochum, the two will share the stage for the first time: Classical pianist Igor Levit, who has received several prizes not only for his artistic output but also in honor of his political engagement, and jazz pianist Fred Hersch, over thirty years his elder. Franz Xaver Ohnesorg remarks: “In my final year as director of the Ruhr Piano Festival, this is a lovely gift from both of them!”
Add this concert to your agenda

How to get there by car

Google Maps Generator by embedgooglemap.net
Venue address

Anneliese Brost Musikforum Ruhr

Marienplatz 1

44787 Bochum
How to get there by train
Supported by
More

Informations

Igor Levit

Born in Nizhni Nowgorod in 1987, Igor Levit moved to Germany with his family at age eight. He completed his piano studies at Hannover Academy of Music, Theatre and Media in 2009 with the highest acade...

MEHR ERFAHREN

Fred Hersch

A select member of jazz’s piano pantheon, Fred Hersch is a pervasively influential creative force who has shaped the music’s course over more than three decades as an improviser, composer, educato...

MEHR ERFAHREN

Anneliese Brost Musikforum Ruhr

After about 15 years of planning and construction, after countless actions and benefit events, thanks to the help of many sponsors and supporters, the Anneliese Brost Musikforum Ruhr was opened in Boc...

MEHR ERFAHREN

Recommended

Concerts

Entdecken Sie folgende

ABONNEMENTS

Wait List

Your favourite concert is already sold out? Please register yourself on the waiting list. If there is a chance for tickets, we will contact you!

Please use this form for one event only.

Di. 23. Mai '23

20:00 Uhr

Bochum

Anneliese Brost Musikforum Ruhr

Igor Levit | Fred Hersch

"Mirrors"

€ 65 | 60 | 55 | 35 | 25

Arcadi Volodos auf dem Klavierfestival Ruhr 2020

Noch immer gerät Igor Levit ins Schwärmen, wenn er erzählt, wie er Fred Hersch bei einem seiner Konzerte im New Yorker Village Vanguard kennenlernte: „Diese Art des Klavierspiels, des Musikmachens am Klavier, dieses permanente Ausatmen – es hat mich wirklich gerissen! Ich bin dann zu Fred gegangen und habe ihm das auch genauso gesagt. Dann blieben wir in Kontakt. Es entstand einfach eine sehr wertvolle und sehr nahe Freundschaft und Beziehung.“ Die sich über die Jahre immer weiter entwickelte: „Fred ist mir ein mehr als sehr wichtiger Freund. Der Mann ist ein Idol für mich, und das meine ich sehr ernst. Ein Fixstern, menschlich und auch künstlerisch.“ 

Schon seit einiger Zeit nimmt Levit immer wieder Kompositionen Herschs in seine Programme auf – so auch am 22. Mai bei seinem Auftritt in Wuppertal. Beim Bochumer Konzert stehen sie dann zum ersten Mal gemeinsam auf der Bühne: der klassische Pianist Igor Levit, der in den letzten Jahren nicht nur für seine künstlerische Arbeit, sondern auch für seinen gesellschaftlichen Einsatz zahlreiche wichtige Auszeichnungen entgegennehmen durfte, und der mehr als dreißig Jahre ältere Jazzer Fred Hersch. Franz Xaver Ohnesorg hierzu: „Ein wahres Geschenk der beiden in meinem letzten Jahr als Intendant des Klavier-Festivals Ruhr!“
Konzert im Kalender eintragen

Anreise mit dem PKW

Google Maps Generator by embedgooglemap.net
Adresse Spielstätte

Anneliese Brost Musikforum Ruhr

Marienplatz 1

44787 Bochum
Fahrplan der Bahn
Wir danken unseren Förder-Partnern
Weitere

Informationen

Igor Levit

1987 in Nizhni Nowgorod geboren, siedelte Igor Levit im Alter von acht Jahren mit seiner Familie nach Deutschland um. Sein Klavierstudium in Hannover absolvierte er mit der höchsten Punktzahl in der ...

MEHR ERFAHREN

Fred Hersch

Als Improvisator, Komponist, Pädagoge, Bandleader, Kollaborateur und Schallplattenkünstler hat Fred Hersch die Musik über mehr als drei Jahrzehnte hinweg entscheidend geprägt. Vanity Fair bezeichn...

MEHR ERFAHREN

Anneliese Brost Musikforum Ruhr

Nach rund 15 Jahren Planungs- und Bauphase, nach unzähligen Aktionen und Benefizveranstaltungen, dank der Hilfe vieler Förderer und Unterstützer wurde das Anneliese Brost Musikforum Ruhr Ende Oktob...

MEHR ERFAHREN

Konzert

Empfehlungen

Entdecken Sie folgende

ABONNEMENTS

WARTELISTE

Ihr Lieblings-Konzert ist bereits ausverkauft? Tragen Sie sich bitte in die Warteliste ein. Falls sich eine Chance auf Karten ergibt, kontaktieren wir Sie! Bitte benutzen Sie dieses Formular nur für jeweils eine Veranstaltung.