Mi. 19. June '24 20:30 Uhr
Essen Philharmonie

Alfried Krupp Saal

Lucas and Arthur Jussen

Piano Duo

Gnossiennes

€ 65 | 60 | 55 | 35 | 25

Arcadi Volodos auf dem Klavierfestival Ruhr 2020

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Sonata for piano four hands in C major KV 521
Robert Schumann Andante and Variations for two pianos op. 46
Jörg Widmann Bunte Blätter for two pianos
Maurice Ravel Ma Mère l’Oye (original version for piano four hands)

Two players – one sea of sound: When Lucas and Arthur Jussen make music together, the music transforms into an ocean that ebbs and flows between two poles. Sometimes towards the southern sounds of Lucas, then towards the northern tones of Arthur.

The “Magic Brothers” have been making music together since childhood. You can hear it. However, most of the time, they practice separately. Lucas, born in 1993, deepened his studies with Menahem Pressler in the USA and Dmitri Bashkirov in Madrid. Arthur, three and a half years younger, studied with Jan Wijn in Amsterdam. When they come together, almost no words are needed. They play and move like a unit on the keys, whether four-handed or on two pianos, sometimes wonderfully smooth with Mozart or Schumann, then energetically precise with works by Stravinsky. The rhythmic stability with which they execute the boldest movements is also owed to their father, a timpanist, these two charming sunny boys who are loved by audiences not only in Holland. They seem to be born for the stage as a duo.

Add this concert to your agenda

Download agenda

How to get there by car

Google Maps Generator by embedgooglemap.net

Venue address

Philharmonie

Huyssenallee 53

45128 Essen
How to get there by train
Thanks to

More

Informations

Lucas & Arthur Jussen

Lucas and Arthur Jussen are among the most sought-after piano duos of our time. In view of their illustrious international career, one could remark that the Jussen brothers (30 and 26) are the Netherland’s pre-eminent ambassadors for classical music. With their energetic, almost symbiotic playing, their great refinement of sound and gripping interpretations, they are praised vigorously by press and audiences alike. ‘It is like driving a pair of BMWs’, exclaimed conductor Michael Schønwandt about the two pianists after directing them in concert.

MEHR ERFAHREN

Philharmonie

The Philharmonie Essen is the largest concert hall in the Ruhr area and was extensively renovated between 2002 and 2004. The Alfried Krupp Hall, the building's central event room, seats 1,906 visitors...

MEHR ERFAHREN

CONCERTS

Recommended

22
Sa
Saturday, 22. June 2024 | 20:00 h
Gelsenkirchen  Heilig-Kreuz-Kirche

Piano & Elektronics: "Wunderkammer"

€ 45 | 35 (reduced)

03
We
Wednesday, 03. July 2024 | 20:00 h
Mülheim an der Ruhr  Stadthalle

Recital

€ 45 | 40 | 35 | 30 | 25

07
Su
Sunday, 07. July 2024 | 18:00 h
Essen  Philharmonie

WDR Symphony Orchestra | Elim Chan (Conductor)

Entdecken Sie folgende

ABONNEMENTS

Wait List

Your favourite concert is already sold out? Please register yourself on the waiting list. If there is a chance for tickets, we will contact you!

Please use this form for one event only.

Mi. 19. Juni '24 20:30 Uhr
Essen Philharmonie Essen

Alfried Krupp Saal

Lucas und Arthur Jussen

Duokonzert

Gnossiennes

Arcadi Volodos auf dem Klavierfestival Ruhr 2020

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Sonate für Klavier zu vier Händen in C-Dur KV 521
Robert Schumann Andante und Variationen für zwei Klaviere op. 46
Jörg Widmann Bunte Blätter für zwei Klaviere
Maurice Ravel Ma Mère l’Oye (Originalfassung für Klavier zu vier Händen)

Johann Sebastian Bach: Matthäuspassion BWV 244, “Aus Liebe will mein Heiland sterben” arr. für Klavier zu vier Händen

Zwei Spieler – ein Klangmeer: Wenn Lucas und Arthur Jussen zusammen musizieren, verwandelt sich die Musik in einen Ozean, der zwischen zwei Polen hin und her wogt. Mal zum Lucas-Süden, dann zum Arthurschen Norden.

Die “Zauberbrüder” musizieren seit ihrer Kindheit zusammen. Das hört man. Aber: Die meiste Zeit üben sie getrennt. Lucas, Jahrgang 1993, hat bei Menahem Pressler in den USA und bei Dmitri Bashkirov in Madrid seine Studien vertieft. Arthur, dreieinhalb Jahre jünger, lernte bei Jan Wijn in Amsterdam. Wenn sie zusammenkommen, bedarf es trotzdem fast keiner Worte. Sie spielen und bewegen sich wie eine Einheit an den Tasten, vierhändig oder an zwei Klavieren, mal wundersam geschmeidig bei Mozart oder Schumann, dann energetisch präzise bei Werken von Strawinsky. Die rhythmische Sattelfestigkeit, mit der sie die kühnsten Bewegungen vollführen, haben sie auch dem Vater, einem Paukisten, zu verdanken, diese beiden sympathischen Sunnyboys, die das Publikum längst nicht mehr nur in Holland liebt. Sie scheinen im Doppelpack für die Bühne geboren.

Konzert im Kalender eintragen

Kalendereintrag downloaden

Abendprogramm

hier downloaden

Intro to go

Anreise mit dem PKW

Google Maps Generator by embedgooglemap.net

Adresse Spielstätte

Philharmonie Essen

Huyssenallee 53

45128 Essen
Fahrplan der Bahn
Wir danken

Weitere

Informationen

Lucas & Arthur Jussen

Zwei Spieler – ein Klangmeer: Wenn Lucas und Arthur Jussen zusammen musizieren, verwandelt sich die Musik in einen Ozean, der zwischen zwei Polen hin und her wogt. Mal zum Lucas-Süden, dann zum Arthurschen Norden.

MEHR ERFAHREN

Philharmonie

Die Philharmonie Essen ist der größte Konzertbau des Ruhrgebiets und wurde 2002 bis 2004 umfassend renoviert. Der Alfried Krupp Saal, der zentrale Veranstaltungsraum des Gebäudes, bietet 1.906 Besu...

MEHR ERFAHREN

Konzert

Empfehlungen

22
Sa
Samstag, 22. Juni 2024 | 20:00 Uhr
Gelsenkirchen  Heilig-Kreuz-Kirche

Klavier & Elektronik: "Wunderkammer"

€ 45 | 35 (ermäßigt)

Nur noch 49 Karten!

03
Mi
Mittwoch, 03. Juli 2024 | 20:00 Uhr
Mülheim an der Ruhr  Stadthalle Mülheim

Rezital

€ 45 | 40 | 35 | 30 | 25

07
So
Sonntag, 07. Juli 2024 | 18:00 Uhr
Essen  Philharmonie

WDR Sinfonieorchester | Elim Chan (Dirigentin)

€ 55 | 50 | 45 | 35 | 25

Entdecken Sie folgende

ABONNEMENTS

WARTELISTE

Ihr Lieblings-Konzert ist bereits ausverkauft? Tragen Sie sich bitte in die Warteliste ein. Falls sich eine Chance auf Karten ergibt, kontaktieren wir Sie! Bitte benutzen Sie dieses Formular nur für jeweils eine Veranstaltung.